• tiktok

Posted on 8th January 2020

Four NHC graduates reach the finals in the 2020 Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards

The finalists have been announced for the 2020 Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards and we’re thrilled that four National Horseracing College (NHC) graduates have reached the finals and will go in front of the 11-strong judging panel in London on 24 February 2020.

The NHC graduates facing the judges, which includes a new judge in the form of last year’s Employee of the Year, Catriona Bissett, who herself came through the National Horseracing College are:-

David Nicholson Newcomer – Charlotte Cotgrave (Trainer: Mark Johnston Racing)

Leadership – Leanne Kershaw (Trainer: Jedd O’Keeffe Racing)– James Savage (Trainer: Michael Stoute)

Rider/Groom – Hayley Ashcroft (Trainer: Tom Dascombe Manor House Stables LLP)

NHC graduate Adrian Steward receiving his award in 2018

An initial 203 nominees were received with this being reduced in December 2019 to a shortlist of ten (for each of the six categories). All 18 finalists are guaranteed a prize, with the winners of the Leadership, Dedication, Rider/Groom and Stud Staff categories receiving £5,000 and the two runners-up in each category receiving £2,000. A further £5,000 will also be awarded to the winner’s yard or stud.

The winner of the David Nicholson Newcomer Award, the category NHC graduate Charlotte Cotgrave has been shortlisted for, will receive £2,000 and a five-day educational tour of Dubai, including return flights and five nights in a five-star hotel.

The winner of the Rory MacDonald Community Award will receive £5,000, with the same going to a charity of their choice. The two runners-up will receive £2,000, with the same going to a charity of their choice.

The awards, now in their 16th year, recognise and reward the outstanding skills, commitment and contribution of over 10,000 stud and stable staff in England, Scotland and Wales.

Generously sponsored by Godolphin and run by the British Horseracing Authority(BHA) in association with the Racing Post and Racing TV, the awards provide total prize money of £128,000 with up to £40,000 available to a single yard or stud.

Congratulations and the very best of luck to all this year’s very deserving finalists.

View all News
Matrix   ofsted   The Yorkshire Society   Diversity Inclusion Logo